Things recently have been a bit hectic as I have been settling into a new job over the last few months. I wont go into it as its not that interesting, but basically a catch up for what I have been up to in the last few months.

With the new job I have not had much time to get out searching for new routes and stuff but I have managed to pop out a few times with a few friends getting up to some weird and wacky stuff.

One of the funnest ones was going out with my buddy Matt Curran up to Stanage to attempt a high line. (A slack line set on a gap between a cliff)
This was actually a lot harder than we though as we have got pretty consistent at walking the line low down.
As soon as you start its really nerve racking and we ended up jumping off the cliff to practice what the falls would be like which was fun enough as it is.
We plan to go back and try again with a little less fear of the thing 🙂

I met up with one of my friends Danny and took a venture to find ‘Anston stones’. This is a nice area which unlike most of the other limestone crags that I have seen in the Sheffield area actually remains rather unpolished.
We played on a few problems the first of which was ‘Colt’ (Font 7a+) a nice little problem with some blind moves which are easy when you hit them but hard if you don’t lol but however DO NOT estimate the finishing mantle 😉 I felt like a beginner all over again as I made a totally un glorious beach whale, face scrubbing grovel to top out. Was a rather funny sight as I could hear Danny laughing at me.
The second problem was called ‘Fine art’ (Font 7a+)
A rather deceiving problem that looks a lot easier than it really is. A few frustrating falls led to me working out a good bit of beta and finding myself at the top of the problem. This is a lovely boulder problem and I highly recommend going to climb it.
I then went on to look at the problem called ‘Bullet’ (Font 7c) ….. is basically a 4 move wonder, and I could only do two of them (the easy ones) and got spanked on the hard bit 😦

Archie then came to visit a few weeks later, we went back and I was happy to latch the crux hold but fell off the final horizontal dyno to a jug …. frustrating, no tick happened for me on this day but knowing that I can do it has got me looking forward to going back.
We both then ventured to look at a crag called ‘Rubicon’ a beautiful area and well worth a visit though VERY polished.
Either way we warmed up and both flashed a font 7a there and Archie went and on-sighted the sport route ‘Rubicon’ F7a.
A good effort and a nice route, so I thought I would give it a go and found out that I need to work on my endurance as I found all the moves easy but was tired after about 7 moves (boulderers syndrome)
So one to go back for as it is an awesome line.

Basically been training and maintaining being strong ready for when a project comes up to blast some endurance out for it.

Which as it happens I have found one 🙂 more on my next post about it along with the pictures of my last new route (A Clash of Kings E6 6a/b) at Turning stone edge.

Thanks for reading guys,
Ill post again tonight or tomorrow for the new route update.

Leave a Reply

